Apple Fritters

When my mom asked me to bake for her birthday [October 24th], I couldn’t say no, not only because she is my mom, but because I wanted to make her birthday special! I told her I’d bake her something great and deliver to her work so that her coworkers could celebrate with her during the day! I chose to make her two things, one of which I am posting about today – Apple Fritters. She absolutely loves the ones from the bakery, and although I couldn’t make them exactly the same, I tried. They turned out really well, although fattening I’m sure [haha].

Apple Fritters

Ingredients:

for the Apple Fritter:

1 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking soda
dash salt
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 T. butter, melted
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 – 1 1/2 cups chopped apple
oil for frying

for the Glaze: 

1 tbsp. milk
1 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

1. Turn on fryer to 375 degrees F or slowly heat oil on stove.

2. Mix all dry ingredients together, slowly add the wet ingredients minus the apple. Carefully mix until well combined but not overly beat,gently fold in apple pieces.

3. Once the oil is ready then using a cookie scooper or soup spoon, place a 4-5 balls of dough into the oil. Be careful not to overcrowd and watch carefully for the underside to turn golden brown, then gently flip over and continue frying until done [light brown in color on all sides]

4. Make glaze by mixing powdered sugar and milk together [can always make more]

5. Dip apple fritters into glaze or drizzle on top of them. Serve warm or room temp.

 

 

Source: Seemingly Greek

 

Leave a Reply

