Dinner Special: Baked Tilapia with Peppers & Onions

Every time I plan on making something for dinner, I always, always, look at what we have in the freezer, fridge, pantry, and garden. I want to try and make something with what we already have. So when I found tilapia filets in the freezer, I knew that would be the perfect end of summer dinner! I just had to figure out what to bake it with, and what to have as a side dish. I quickly found brown rice, and although I have trouble cooking brown rice [it seems to come out like cream of wheat], I still cooked it anyways, hoping it would come out different [it didn’t, and I even followed the directions on the bag]! I found the perfect recipe for things on hand, here it is:

Baked Tilapia with Pepper & Onions

servings: 3

Ingredients:

3 Tilapia Fillets (3-4 oz fillets)
5 sliced small Green Peppers (preferably from the garden)
4 small red onions, slivered (preferably from the garden)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp parsley (I used McCormick)
1-2 cloves garlic
2 TBS olive oil
salt and pepper
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Pour olive oil in dish. Add garlic while you slice the vegetables.
2. Line pan with foil. Brush lightly with a bit of the olive oil. Spread peppers and onions in pan. Sprinkle with some parsley on top of peppers and onions.
3. Place tilapia fillets on top of peppers. Pour lemon juice over fish. Brush fillets with olive oil making sure to include garlic bits. Sprinkle pepper and salt over all and remaining parsley.
4. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until fish flakes. Serve with lemon wedges if desired.
Source: Recipe4Me
Leave a Reply

