Fresh-Squeezed Lemonade

What’s better than an ice cold glass of lemonade on a hot summer day? I’ll tell you, NOTHING! I had four lemons in the fridge, and I didn’t know what to use them for, I mean no recipe calls for 4 lemons, except lemonade! So I looked a little online for a great recipe and found one on the Youngrens blog.

Perfect Fresh-Squeezed Lemonade

serves: 6

Ingredients: 

1 cup sugar (can reduce to 3/4 cup)
1 cup water (for the simple syrup)
1 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
3 to 4 cups cold water

Directions: 

1. Make the simple syrup by heating the sugar and water in a small saucepan until the sugar in dissolved completely.

2. While the sugar in dissolving, use a juicer to extract the juice from 4 to 6 lemons, enough for one cup of juice.

3. Add the juice and the sugar water to a pitcher. Add 3 to 4 cups of cold water, more or less, to the desired strength. Refrigerate 30 to 40 minutes. If the lemonade is a little sweet for your taste, add a little more straight lemon juice.

4. Serve with ice and sliced lemons.

*What I found out I need though, for the kitchen, is a citrus squeezer… using your hands just doesn’t cut it!

Source: The Youngrens

4 responses to “Fresh-Squeezed Lemonade

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you loved it! And yes, the citrus juicer is definitely necessary – and the electric ones are the best. My arms can barely handles juicing so many lemons!

    • Erin it was seriously the best lemonade ever! I loved it! Thank you! I’m definitely going to pick up a juicer the next time I’m out. I know what you’re saying I felt like I just exercised after! ha

Leave a Reply

