Dinner Special: Spinach Apple Salad

I was making the Island Spiced Pork, and I knew I needed perfect sides that would compliment the dish. I decided to go with mashed potatoes and broccoli. I wanted to add another healthy side, and knew it had to be salad. I had spinach available, so I searched for a recipe. I found a Spinach Apple Salad that I knew would not only be light on the calories, but also light in the stomach. I altered it a bit, but I feel like it came out great.

Spinach Apple Salad

yield: 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons cider vinegar
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1 cup diced, unpeeled apples
1/4 cup chopped sweet onion
1/4 cup craisins
2 cups torn fresh spinach
2 cups torn romaine

*can be altered depending on servings

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, combine vinegar, oil, salt and sugar; mix well.

2. Add apple, onion and raisins; toss lightly to coat. Cover and let stand for 10 minutes.

3. Just before serving, combine spinach and romaine in a large salad bowl; add dressing and toss.

Adapted from: All Recipes

Leave a Reply

