The Beginning…

Here I will begin my baking journey from scratch, literally.

I started another blog earlier this year using blogger; it’s about my life in general. You can visit that here. I will still be updating frequently on blogger, as well as updating my kitchen adventures here on word press.

I’ve been baking for quite some time now, but only quite recently I have begun to bake from scratch. With the support of my father, who has bought me several recipe books, along with a Kitchen-aid Ice Cream Maker, I have baked two different cupcakes, and plan on baking a heck of a lot more. He loves to see me baking and enjoying what I’m doing; he also doesn’t mind eating the final product ;]

The recipe book, Cupcakes by Pamela Clark, has a numerous amount of cupcake recipes, along with pictures of every cupcake, and some baker’s tips in the back. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in trying new and delicious cupcakes.

I’ve made two different kinds of cupcakes over the past few weeks: Cloud Cakes & Banana Caramel Cakes.

Cloud Cakes:

Strawberry Swirl Buttercake       Fluffy Frosting           Decorations
6 tablespoons butter, softened     1 cup sugar                 pink sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract         1/2 cup water
1/2 cup sugar                             2 egg whites
2 eggs
1 cup self-rising flour
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons strawberry jam



Directions:
1. Preheat oven at 350 degrees & prepare 6-12 hole pan with paper baking cups
2. Beat butter, vanilla, sugar, eggs, flour, and milk in a small bowl with mixer on low speed until ingredients are combined. Increase speed to medium, and beat until mixture turns a paler color.
3. Divide mixture in baking cups. Divide jam over tops of cakes & use skewer to swirl jam into cakes.

4. Bake larger cakes for 30 minutes & smaller cakes for 20 minutes. Take out and let cool.

5. Make Fluffy Frosting
a. Combine Sugar and water in small pot; stir over medium heat, without boiling, until sugar is dissolved.
b. Boil, uncovered, for 5 minutes. [should be thick but not colored]

c. Remove from heat & let bubbles subside
d. Beat egg whites with a mixer until soft peaks form
e. Add syrup in a thin stream, while mixing & beat for 10 minutes

6. Spread frosting on cupcakes & sprinkle with pink sugar.

Even though the frosting didn’t come out as fluffy as I wanted it to, the cupcakes were still delicious and a perfect way to say ‘goodbye’ to my brother who went off to college that night.

Leave a Reply

