Cantaloupe Ice Cream & Buttermilk Pound cake

After purchasing a new spatula, along with a bundt cake pan from Kohl’s [they sell the Food Network line], I was ready for action.

I was planning to make a buttermilk pound cake that I found on the blog 17 & Baking. I had never made any kind of pound cake, bread, or bundt before, so I was pretty nervous. Of course I’m still using my mother & father’s hand mixer from when they got married, until I receive the Kitchen-aid Stand Mixer as a gift, or treat myself :] It gets the job done though.

As I was preparing the ingredients, I thought it was super easy and I kept asking myself why I hadn’t tried it out before. After it came out of the oven, I knew why. It took a lot of concentration and attention to each direction of the recipe in order to get this cake perfect. Unfortunately, it was also dinner time so I quickly put the cake mix into the bundt pan and placed it into the oven. Not only forgetting to add flour/butter to the pan to grease it up, but also believing that the pan is greased by itself. My mistake. Due to it, my cake didn’t come out exactly as I had hoped.

Cruze Farm Buttermilk Pound Cake
Slightly adapted from the New York Times
Makes a 9″ bundt cake

1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted room temperature butter, plus more for greasing the pan
3 1⁄2 cups sifted all-purpose flour, plus more for flouring the pan
1⁄2 teaspoon salt
1⁄2 teaspoon baking soda
2 1⁄2 cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs, room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup cultured buttermilk (see above to make your own)
Juice of 1 lemon, strained

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Butter and flour a bundt pan.

Sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda. In a stand mixer, beat the butter and drizzle in the sugar, creaming it well. Add the eggs one at a time, after the egg before it has been incorporated. Beat in the vanilla extract, scraping down the sides. On low speed, add a third of the flour mixture until just combined. Then add a third of the buttermilk mixture until just combined. Repeat with the remaining flour and buttermilk. Stir in the lemon juice.

Smooth the batter into the prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick or thin knife comes out clean, about 75 minutes. The cake should be browned and the edges should be starting to pull away. Cool for 20 minutes in the pan, then invert onto a rack and cool completely.

Luckily for me, pound cake wasn’t the only thing I was making [with the help of my dad of course]! We also decided to make cantaloupe ice cream with our new ice cream maker, using fresh cantaloupe from the market.


Cantaloupe Ice Cream  (Philadelphia Style)

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Chill Time: 1 hour
Ice Cream Maker Time: Approximately 25-30 minutes
Servings: Ten 1/2 cup servings

Ingredients:

Cantaloupe

1 ripe cantaloupe
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar

Ice Cream Base

1 cup milk
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 cups heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract

Cantaloupe

Puree cantaloupe.

Combine cantaloupe, lemon juice, and 1/4 cup sugar in a small, airtight container.

Chill cantaloupe mixture in the frige for 1 hour.

Ice Cream Base

Mix milk and sugar together so that the sugar dissolves (about 1 -2 minutes with a hand mixer or whisk).

Drain cantaloupe puree and add juice to milk mixture. Set cantaloupe aside.

Stir in cream and vanilla extract.

Pour into ice cream maker.

Mix about 20-25 minutes.

Drain cantaloupe puree again, discarding juice or saving for another use.

Add cantaloupe puree (not juice) to ice cream mixture.

Mix 5 more minutes in your ice cream maker.

Enjoy… whether it’s like this…

or this…

or even this…

What a tasty way to end the summer off right.

Leave a Reply

